A wave of memories

Today evening, after completing a considerable portion of my work I am currently working on, I just had a break. It was a breezy evening with sun shining mildly on my face and I was sipping my mug of coffee, when a wave of memorable memories splashed upon my mind. It was about the past one month which went on with campus interviews coming towards me on a conveyor line. Yeah, that was the reason for my blog to go on a hibernate. 😉

The last month was completely filled with campus interviews. Being an undergraduate, and having no experience in facing official interviews, I was a kind of nervous and excited. I know I have been preparing well, and the preparation was like a good old friend beside me saying, I am there to lend you a helping hand. So I just had the thought that interviews would be based on some questions which tests how far we understand the concepts and how well we are able to think, solve problems, code, etc, etc. My interview went a step more than that.

What I really enjoyed about my interview was that, I never expected such questions, it was completely related with the practical work I have been doing as a passion / hobby, and more important is that I was able to answer those. 😀 Yeah, it revolved around my open source contributions, patches I have submitted, tools I have used, and so..on. I initially had the feel the my contributions bridged the gap between practical and theory stuffs, but it was much more. And the pinnacle is even higher I believe.

So my open sourcing world comprises of three things, Drizzle, SaltStack and Google Summer of Code. Having peeped into many organizations, it was finally Drizzle which marked the beginning. That was the entry point, shown by my dear friend Vijay Samuel. And then inside Drizzle I became friends with Patrick Crews, who finally became my mentor. 🙂 They were the pillars with which I was able to get a balance and stabilize myself. And of course Drizzle, which provided the platform.

I loved this work and that is when Google Summer of Code 2012 sprang in. And double joy was that Drizzle was an accepted organization. It was their third year at GSoC. I started fixing bugs, submitted patches, proved my worth and finally got my proposal selected. This 4 months of program strengthened the bond between me and Drizzle. I was able to learn a lot lot lot of new things, interesting stuffs, etc and I didn’t want to leave this organization.

With many friendly people around, I felt the warmth given by Drizzle. I started contributing to Drizzle even after Google Summer of Code 2012, then had SaltStack in parallel and today, I am again into Google Summer of Code 2013, working for Drizzle and using SaltStack tools. The whole blend of Drizzle + SaltStack + Google Summer of Code. I sincerely thank my friend Vijay and my mentor Patrick and of course Drizzle organization for helping me bring out my potential, learn new technologies, getting hands on experience and getting a job offer as well. 🙂

One thought on “A wave of memories

  1. Pingback: Another Drizzle GSoC Success Story | Drizzle News and Updates

Leave a Reply

